“I Have a Date with Spring” nominated for top prize at International Film Festival Rotterdam 2018

Korean movie I Have a Date with Spring is among the eight films vying for the most prestigious award at the 47th International Film Festival Rotterdam (IFFR) currently taking place in The Netherlands (January 24 to February 4, 2018).  The competition line-up (below) includes seven world premieres and one international premiere.

  • Djon África, João Miller Guerra/Filipa Reis, 2018, Portugal/Brazil, world premiere
  • I Have a Date with Spring, Baek Seungbin, 2018, South Korea, world premiere
  • Sultry, Marina Meliande, 2018, Brazil, world premiere
  • Nervous Translation, Shireen Seno, 2018, Philippines, world premiere
  • Piercing, Nicolas Pesce, 2018, USA, international premiere
  • Possessed, Metahaven/Rob Schröder, 2018, Netherlands/Croatia, world premiere
  • The Reports on Sarah and Saleem, Muayad Alayan, 2018, Palestine/Netherlands/Germany/Mexico, world premiere
  • The Widowed Witch, Cai Chengjie, 2018, China, world premiere


In addition to international recognition, the Hivos Tiger Award includes a cash prize of €40,000, to be divided between filmmaker and producer.  An international jury of five filmmakers and film professionals will also select an exceptional artistic achievement within the Tiger nominees to receive a Special Jury Award worth €10,000. Both will be presented at the Awards Ceremony on Friday, 2 February 2018.

I Have a Date with Spring is feature film directed and written by Baek Seung Bin.  It is a mystery black comedy that tells about a filmmaker who struggles with a script revolving around the hypothetical question: what would you wish for on the last day before the end of the world?

The movie features  Kim Sung Kyun (The Sheriff in Town, 2017; Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo, 2016Reply 1994, 2015); Jang Young Nam (Confidential Assignment, 2017, The King Loves, 2017, The Werewolf Boy, 2012);  Lee Jong Soo (1987: When the Day Comes, 2017; Room No. 7, 2017; Ruler: Master of the Mask, 2017) and special participation by Kang Ha Neul (Forgotten, 2017; Midnight Runners, 2017; Dongju: Portrait of a Poet, 2015) . Produced by Milestone Company, the film is expected to be released in South Korea in the first half of 2018.

South Korea is no stranger to the Hivos Tiger Award as five Korean films have won in the past: Han Gong-Ju by Lee Su-Jin (2014), The Journals of Musan by Park Jung-Bum (2011), Breathless by Yang Ik-Jun (2009), Jealousy Is My Middle Name by Park Chan Ok (2003) and The Day a Pig Fell into the Well by Hong Sang-soo (1997).

Other Korean films featured in this year’s 47th IFFR are The Fortress (directed by Hwang Dong Hyuk, starring Lee Byung Hun, Kim Yun Seok),  The Villainess (directed by Jung Byung Gil, starring Shin Ha Kyung, Kim Ok Vin); A Tiger in Winter (director Lee Kwang Kuk, starring Lee Jin Wook).

For more information about the IFFR, please visit the official website: https://iffr.com/


By riversky

You may also like ...


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *